Where is the line between wanting to wear makeup and feeling like you have to?

lXcsz81465839939

I actually haven’t really seen anyone talking about this subject, but I feel like it is an important one. You know what they say – wear makeup only for yourself, not for anyone else. I 100% agree with that, but in reality, the line between wanting to wear it for yourself and wanting to wear it for others is so diffused.

I love makeup, I really do, don’t get me wrong. You can’t deny that it is really fun to see yourself with sharp cheekbones or full eyebrows. But do I really need it every day?

Some mornings I just don’t feel like putting on makeup or just simply don’t have time for it, but I do at least a little bit anyways. And yes, not entirely for myself, for others too. I have this weird quality about me that I don’t like people feeling sorry for me. I don’t want to be vulnerable. I try not to complain too much if I hadn’t had that much sleep the night before. I just cover up my dark circles and act like everything is how it’s supposed to be. As vain as it sounds, I want to create an image that I’ve got it all somewhat together. I don’t want anyone focusing on how tired or sick I look or that blemish I’ve got, I want them to look at me, at my work, at my personality. I am not hiding under makeup, I am just hiding the things I don’t want representing me. I want them to see the real me.

Tell me your thoughts on this topic in the comments.

I would really appreciate if you do.

Elizabeth,  xx

3 comments

  1. iblogbeauty · · Reply

    This is so true! You have hit the nail on the head. I’m the same as you and want people to see me for the real me and not the dark circles! xx

    http://www.iblogbeautyuk.com
    https://www.instagram.com/iblogbeautyuk/

    Like

    1. It’s nice to know that I am not the only one, thank you for commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

